Application Procedure

Applying for the VCQ PHD SCHOOL is a two step process:

First Step

In a first step,
each applicant must complete the following:

Letters of Recommendation

Each applicant must have TWO letters of recommendation from separate academic advisors. For this purpose, each applicant must choose a unique ID while submitting the Application form.

Both advisers must refer to this ID while filling out the Recommendation form and upload a letter of recommendation.

It is the applicants‘ responsibility to inform their academic advisors about the deadlines and submission procedure of the recommendation form and letter. The academic advisors should submit their recommendation form and letter within the application deadline!

Second Step

A pre-selection process by the faculty members will be based on the online applications. Only complete applications (i.e., including two recommendation letters) will be considered. Pre-selected candidates will be invited for a two day hearing.

dates tba

Hearings will be held VIA ZOOM

Applicants who successfully pass both steps will be accepted to the VCQ-PhD graduate school.

Dates & Deadlines


next call starts November 1st, 2021

Pre-selected candidates will be informed within a few weeks.

February 2022

Please note that the Hearings will be held via Zoom.
PhD Program   •  Application  •  People  •  Teaching  •  Featured Vacancies  •   FAQ & Resources